South Green Logo

South Green Trainings pages

Linux For Dummies


This course offers an introduction to work with Linux. We will describe the Linux environment, the first linux commands so participants can start to utilize command-line tools and feel comfortablei using bioinformatics softwares through a linux terminal.

Prerequisites

No experience required

Program

  • Connecting to a distant HPC
  • Navigating through a Unix file system
  • Creating and deleting files
  • Manipuling and filtering file text
  • Basics searching for text within a file

Learning objectives

After this course, participants should be able to:
  • Connect to a Unix / Linux system
  • Manipulate files and directories within the Linux system
  • Work with text files
  • Run programs from the command-line

Training material

Instructors

  • Christine Tranchant (CT) - christine.tranchant@ird.fr (UMR DIADE)
  • Sebastien Ravel (SR) - sebastien.ravel@cirad.fr (UMR BGPI)
  • Alexis Dereeper (AD) - alexis.dereeper@ird.fr (UMR IPME)
  • Ndomassi Tando (NT) - ndomassi.tando@ird.fr (UMR DIADE)
  • François Sabot (SB) - francois.sabot@ird.fr (UMR DIADE)
  • Gautier Sarah (GSa) - gautier.sarah@cirad.fr (UMR AGAP)
  • Bruno Granouillac (BG) - bruno.granouillac@ird.fr (UMR TransVIH-MI/MIVEGEC)
  • Marilyne Summo (MS) - marilyne.summo@cirad.fr (UMR AGAP)
  • Clement Agret (CA) - clement.agret@cirad.fr (UMR AGAP)
  • Guilhem Sempéré (GSe) - guilhem.sempere@cirad.fr (UMR INTERTRYP)
  • Florentin Constancias (FC) - florentin.constancias@cirad.fr (UMR Qualisud)
  • Valérie Noël (VN) - valerie.noel@ird.fr (UMR MIVEGEC)

Trainings

Date Location Topics Parrticipants Instructors Links Units
2019 Montpellier, France Linux For Dummies 20 CT, NT,GSe, FC, VN   UMR AGAP, BGPI, DIADE, IPME, Qualisud, MIVEGEC
2018 Montpellier, France Linux For Dummies 24 GSa, CT, CA, MS   UMR AGAP
2018 Montpellier, France Linux For Dummies 20 CT, NT, BG, FS, GSa   UMR DIADE, IPME, MIVEGEC, transVIH-MI
2017 Dakar, Senegal Linux & Perl 20 ND, CT, FS   IRD, Bel Air Campus
2016 Ouagadougou, Burkina Bioinformatics applied to genomics 20 CT, AD   IRD
2014 Sao Paulo, Brazil Bioinformatics applied to genomics 20 CT   University of Sao Paulo
2014 Dakar, Senegal Bioinformatics applied to genomics 20 CT, AD   IRD, Bel Air Campus
2013 Dakar, Senegal Bioinformatics applied to genomics 20 CT, AD, BG   University of Dakar (UCAD)
2013 Montpellier, France Bioinformatics applied to genomics 30 CT, BG   UMR DIADE, IMPE, MIVEGEC, LSTM
2012 Ouagadougou, Burkina Bioinformatics applied to genomics 20 BG, AD   IRD
2012 Montpellier, France Bioinformatics applied to genomics 30 CT, BG   UMR DIADE, IMPE, MIVEGEC, LSTM
2011 Montpellier, France Bioinformatics applied to genomics 30 CT, BG   UMR DIADE, IMPE, MIVEGEC, LSTM